Previous Previous     Contents     Index     Next Next

Setting Mail Preferences

This page allows you:

ProcedureTo Change Personal Information

In the Options - Mail page you can specify default mail settings and information about your account.

  1. Click the Personal Information link.

  2. In the Options - Mail -- Personal Information page, specify the following preferences:

    You can change the following:

    • Reply to Address. To change your reply to address to an alternative address, complete this field.

    • Signature. To customize the signature included at the end of each message you send, enter your text, and select the Add signature to each message you compose check box.


      Note - Do not confuse a personal signature with an S/MIME signature, which requires special permission and a private key certificate.


    • vCard. To include your name, postal address, email address, phone number, and other information in your messages, enter your text, and select the Attach this vCard to each message you compose check box.

  3. Click Save to save the new personal information.

ProcedureTo Change Mail Settings

In the Options - Mail page you can specify default mail settings and information about your account.

  1. Click the Settings option.

  2. Specify your preferences in the Settings page:

    • Deleting Mail. You can choose to move deleted messages to Trash or to a specific folder, or mark messages as deleted.

      Move deleted messages to folder. To move deleted messages to a particular folder, select the radio button next to "Move deleted messages to folder" and select the name of the folder from the drop-down box.

      Select the Empty messages from this folder on logout check box. If this option is not set, you must periodically empty your Trash to maintain maximum performance for your mail.

    • Mark messages deleted. If you select Mark messages deleted, deleted messages are marked with an X and continue to appear in the current folder. When you click Expunge, the messages that are marked for deletion are permanently removed. Backup copies are not saved.

      To remove marked messages when you log out, select the check box next to "Remove deleted messages from Inbox on logout." If this option is not selected, deleted messages are listed in your Inbox with an X beside them the next time you log in.

    • Sent Messages This option lets you save a copy of every message you send in a specific folder. Select the name of the folder from the drop-down box.

    • Message Draft This option lets you choose a folder in which drafts are to be saved. Select the folder name from the drop-down box.

    • Reply Quoting This option lets you automatically include the text of a message to which you are replying. Select this option to include the original message in the reply.

    • Email Address Enter the email address. Enter as many email addresses as you want in the text field, one line at time.

      To remove an email address from the Mail Forwarding list, select the email address and click Remove.

    • Enable Forwarding. Select this option to automatically send a copy of every message you receive to the email addresses mentioned in the Mail Forwarding list. When you choose this option, the server maintains a copy of the mail in your inbox.

    • Do not leave copy on server. When you choose this option, the server does not maintain a copy of forwarded mail in your inbox.

    • Secure Messaging. Use the secure messaging options to set the Secure/Multipurpose Internet Mail Extension (S/MIME) features for your outgoing messages and to choose a private key certificate when requesting an S/MIME signature.

      Your administrator sets initial S/MIME settings for Mail. The settings control whether all outgoing messages are automatically signed, automatically encrypted, or automatically signed and encrypted. They also control whether the S/MIME check boxes located at the bottom of a New Message page and in the Mail Options - Settings page are displayed as checked (feature turned on) or unchecked (feature turned off).

      To send signed and encrypted messages, enable the following Secure Messaging options:

    • Sign all outgoing Messages. Check this option to automatically sign all outgoing messages. Uncheck the box to prevent signing all messages automatically. To use this option, you must obtain your own private key certificate from a registered third-party company.

    • Encrypt all outgoing Messages. Check this option to automatically send encrypted messages using the public key certificate of the recipient. Uncheck the box to prevent encrypting all messages automatically.


      Note - You can override the settings of Sign all outgoing Messages and Encrypt all outgoing Messages by unchecking these options for the message in the New Message page.


    • Select a Signing Certificate. After your certificate or certificates are imported to a local key store, or after you have a smart card, you must select the certificate that Mail uses to sign the messages.

      Click the signing certificate you want to use from the list of available private keys. The selected certificate is used until you choose a different one.

  3. Click Save to save the new mail settings.

ProcedureTo Specify Mail Layout

  1. Specify the following:

    • Messages per Page. You can set the number of messages that can be displayed on a page. Select the number from the drop-down menu. The options available are 10, 20, 40, 60, 80, and 100.

    • Sort Order. Select the sort order to sort messages in ascending (oldest first), or descending order (newest first).

    • Columns to Display. Use this field to customize the appearance of Inbox, Drafts, Trash and Personal Folders.

      • Select a value in Columns 1 to 7 from the drop-down menu. The options available are Priority, Attachment, Seen NotSeen, Sender, Subject, Received Date, Size.

  2. Click Save to save the new layout settings.

Previous Previous     Contents     Index     Next Next